#FestivalFriday- Meet Gojira

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Japanese name for Godzilla is Gojira and for French metal band Gojira the sound just like the Lizard King. Gojira have been churning out music for over 20 yrs. The band is known for several singles ranging from Toxic Garbage Island, L’ Enfant Sauvage, and Silvera. The band even got a Grammy nomination for their 2016 album Magma.

Their music incorporates tight distorted guitar patterns, technical double bass and drumming patterns, and harsher style vocals, with bits of atmosphere elements thrown in. Gojira calls themselves a technical death metal band, having blended bits of death, progressive and groove into their songs. The band’s music is more in the environmentalist nature, as they sing about topics relating to nature and the planet earth. This unique blend has put the band as one of the must-see acts in the metal scene.

Gojira will be performing on Day 2 of the Sonic Temple Festival, May 18th, 2019. However, if you can’t make it to Sonic Temple Fest you can catch Gojira on the following dates


curated:written by George Archibald

Gojira Tour Dates

May 18th- Sonic Temple Festival- Columbus, OH
May 19th – Chicago Open Air- Bridgeview, IL
June 11th – Ritz Raleigh- Raleigh, NC
June 12th – The Fillmore- Charlotte, NC
June 13th – Orange Peel- Asheville, NC
June 14th – Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival- Manchester, TN

With Slipknot, Volbeat and Behemoth
Fri Jul 26 – Mountain View, CA – Shoreline Amphitheatre
Sat Jul 27 – San Bernardino, CA – San Manuel Amphitheater
Thu Aug 1 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre
Sat Aug 3 – Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheater
Sun Aug 4 – Phoenix, AZ – Ak-Chin Pavilion
Tue Aug 6 – Denver, CO – Pepsi Center
Thu Aug 8 – Lincoln, NE – Pinnacle Bank Arena
Sat Aug 10 – Des Moines, IA – Iowa State Fairgrounds*
Sun Aug 11 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Mon Aug 12 – Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theatre
Wed Aug 14 – Virginia Beach, VA – Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater
Fri Aug 16 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Sat Aug 17 – Bonner Springs, KS – Providence Medical Center Amphitheater
Sun Aug 18 – Maryland Heights, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Tue Aug 20 – Toronto, ON – Budweiser Stage
Wed Aug 21 – Saratoga Springs, NY – Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Fri Aug 23 – Burgettstown, PA – KeyBank Pavilion
Sat Aug 24 – Scranton, PA – The Pavilion at Montage Mountain
Sun Aug 25 – Darien Center, NY – Darien Lake Amphitheater
Tue Aug 27 – Mansfield, MA – The Xfinity Center
Wed Aug 28 – Wantagh, NY – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Fri Aug 30 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
Sat Aug 31 – Camden, NJ – BB&T Pavilion
Sun Sep 1 – Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live
Tue Sep 3 – Alpharetta, GA – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre
Wed Sep 4 – Tampa, FL – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Fri Sep 6 – Austin, TX – Austin360 Amphitheater at Circuit of The Americas
Sat Sep 7 – Dallas, TX – Dos Equis Pavilion
Sun Sep 8 – The Woodlands, TX – The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion presented by Huntsman
*Iowa State Fair – Slipknot & Gojira only

[Total: 1    Average: 5/5]
Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.